Home‎ > ‎


NCAA Regulations

Core Courses

  • NCAA Division I requires 16 core courses. See the chart below for the breakdown of this 16 core-course


  • NCAA Division II currently requires 14 core courses. Division II will require 16 core courses for students enrolling on or after August 1, 2013. See the breakdown of core-course requirements below.

    Test Scores

  • Division I uses a sliding scale to match test scores and core grade-point averages. The sliding scale for those

    requirements is shown on page two of this sheet.

  • Division II requires a minimum SAT score of 820 or an ACT sum score of 68.

  • The SAT score used for NCAA purposes includes only the critical reading and math sections. The writing section of the SAT is not used.

  • The ACT score used for NCAA purposes is a sum of the following four sections: English, mathematics, reading and science.

  • When you register for the SAT or ACT, use the NCAA Eligibility Center code of 9999 to ensure all SAT and ACT scores are reported directly to the NCAA Eligibility Center from the testing agency. Test scores that appear on transcripts will not be used.

    Grade-Point Average

  • Be sure to look at your high school’s List of NCAA Courses on the NCAA Eligibility Center's website

    (www.eligibilitycenter.org). Use the list as a guide.

  • Only courses that appear on your school's List of NCAA Courses will be used in the calculation of the core grade-

    point average. Use the list as a guide.

  • Division I core grade-point-average requirements are listed on the sliding scale on Page No. 2 of this sheet.

  • The Division II core grade-point-average requirement is a minimum of 2.000.

  • Remember, the NCAA grade-point average is calculated using NCAA core courses only. 

Cindi Wacker,
Sep 19, 2016, 9:33 AM
Cindi Wacker,
Dec 7, 2016, 9:44 AM
Cindi Wacker,
Dec 7, 2016, 9:46 AM
Cindi Wacker,
Dec 7, 2016, 9:46 AM